CHARFIELD ASSOCIATION (FORMERLY CHADRA) ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)

Minutes of meeting held on Wednesday 3 January 2018, at Charfield Memorial Hall, at 7.30pm

PRESENT: Deborah Field (Chair), Linda Felton (Secretary), Alison Howard (Treasurer), Marion Smith, Angela Smith, Angie Hill, Jane Wilcox, Ruth Buchanan. Representing the village: Sarah Norton.

APOLOGIES: Joan Crowfoot

1. CHAIRMAN'S WELCOME

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting and everyone introduced themselves.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE EGM 15 NOVEMBER 2016

Approval of the minutes was proposed (Deborah Field) and seconded (Angie Hill). All agreed.

3. CHANGES TO THE CONSTITUTION APPROVED AT THE EGM

The Chairman explained that following correspondence with HMRC during 2017 it was necessary to make some changes to the Constitution in order to retain charitable status. These were:

a) The aims at paragraph 2 revised to read:

"The Association is established to promote the benefit of the members of the Charfield village community without distinction of age, sex, race, political or religious or other opinions, by associating the statutory authorities, voluntary organisations, institutions, businesses and inhabitants in a common effort with the objects of nurturing a sense of community, improving the lives of the members of said community and promoting all or any objects for the benefits of the community which now or hereafter may be deemed charitable by law."

And

b) New sub-para 11e "No amendment shall be made which would have the effect of making the charity cease to be a charity at law."

These changes had been agreed by the Committee to take effect from 1 July 2017. All present confirmed their agreement to the changes.

4. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Linda Felton and Joan Crowfoot have both indicated that they would like to step down from the committee. Deborah thanked Linda for all her hard work on the committee, and thanks will be passed to Joan by Marion on the committee's behalf, with everyone else in agreement with that. All other Committee members confirmed they were content to remain on the Committee.

The following officers and members were duly elected:

Deborah Field: Chairman Alison Howard: Treasurer Jane Wilcox: Secretary

Angie Hill: Editor

Marion Smith, Angela Smith: Magazine distribution

Ruth Buchanan: Advertising co-ordinator

Posts proposed (Alison Howard) and seconded (Angie Hill).

5. REPORT OF ACCOUNTS

Alison presented details of the accounts for 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2017 to the committee. The accounts will now go to Paul Leach, the Auditor, to be verified.

6. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR

Paul Leach had confirmed that he was content to remain as Auditor and this was agreed.

7. **AOB**

There was no other business.

8. DATE OF NEXT AGM

2 April 2019

The meeting was closed at 8pm.